Publications|History Prizes

Dixon Ryan Fox Manuscript Prize
Established in 1973 as the New York State Historical Association Manuscript Award, the prize consists of a $3,000 purse and assistance in publication. It is presented each year to the best unpublished, book-length monograph dealing with some aspect of the history of New York State. The Association named the award for Dixon Ryan Fox in 1997 to recognize the contributions to New York history of a distinguished historian who served as the Association's president from 1929 to 1945.

The Henry Allen Moe Prize for Catalogs of Distinction in the Arts

The Henry Allen Moe Prize, awarded annually by NYSHA, recognizes excellence in exhibitions and collections-based publishing.

The Association is the recipient of an endowment from Mrs. Henry Allen Moe in memory of her husband, Henry Allen Moe, scholar and humanist. Income from the endowment is used for substantial cash prizes to foster and recognize scholarship in art history and decorative arts studies in the form of published catalogues of exhibits and collections.

Kerr History Prize
Endowed by Paul S. Kerr, and named for him by the board of trustees, this $1,000 prize is awarded each year to the best article published in New York History, as judged by a special trustee committee.

Back To Top print